This site shows you how to identify operative words in a script and how to emphasis them.  Those are the best pages and apply to reading scripts only.  These tips do not apply to standups (at least in my book) as those should be more conversational and less scripted.
 http://multimedia.journalism.berkeley.edu/tutorials/standups/operatives-identifying/

Vivian H.
10/4/2010 01:28:50 pm

This information is very useful. I never really just though about operative words, but they are a key ingredient to any story, whether it is for print or TV. Correct use of the operative words makes me think of the writing stories for joe six pack.

Reply
Brennan
10/7/2010 03:35:01 am

Reading this story really hit me where I need to work most. Too many times we get stuck in a monotone voice and the way you write a script directly affects how you read and present yourself on television. Very useful.

Reply



Leave a Reply.